

2018 FFA VETERINARY SCIENCE TEAM CALIFORNIA STATE AND NATIONAL AWARD CHAMPIONS

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA at Lassen Union High School consists of over 330 active Future Farmers of America (FFA) student members and was chartered in 1928; and

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA is a member in the National FFA organization that provides leadership, personal growth, and career success training through agricultural education to 669,989 student members belonging to 8,630 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands; and,

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA has a Veterinary Science Career Development Program that is being taught by Advisor Elizabeth Ammon; and

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA veterinary science program's purpose is for developing college and career readiness by providing opportunities to develop technical knowledge and demonstrate practical skills in the field of veterinary science; and,

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA has a veterinary science contest team comprised of Honesty Drake, Kassie Sandborg, Carlene Simpson, and Waylon Miller who travel to various competitions and events, statewide, for experiencing and learning about what it takes to be a veterinarian; and

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA veterinary science team won 1st place at the 2018 California State FFA Finals and Field Day Veterinary Science Career Development Event at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, thereby qualifying the team to compete in the 91st National FFA Convention & Expo at Indianapolis, Indiana; and,

Whereas, SUSANVILLE FFA veterinary science team competed against 44 teams over 2 days scoring 2,823 out of a possible 3,280 at the National Convention winning 1st Place in the Veterinary Science Career Development Event.

Now, Therefore Be it Proclaimed by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Lassen to commend the effort of Advisor Elizabeth Ammon and to recognize the outstanding academic achievement won by Honesty Drake, Kassie Sandborg, Carlene Simpson, and Waylon Miller for being Susanville FFA's first national winning team in the organization's 91 year history.

national winning team in the organization's 91 year history.	
	CHRIS GALLAGHER
	Chairman of the Board of Supervisors
ATTEST:	•
JULIE BUSTAMANTE	
Clerk of the Board	
BY:	
MICHELE YDERRAGA, Deputy Clerk of the Board	