

# **Lassen County**

### **Meeting Minutes**

## **Board of Supervisors Special Meeting**

LASSEN COUNTY SUPERVISORS:

DISTRICT 1 - CHRIS GALLAGHER - CHAIRMAN; DISTRICT 2 - DAVID TEETER; DISTRICT 3 - JEFF HEMPHILL - VICE CHAIRMAN; DISTRICT 4 - AARON ALBAUGH; DISTRICT 5 - TOM HAMMOND

Monday, February 5, 2018

6:00 PM

Lassen County Fairgrounds Jensen Hall 195 Russell Ave Susanville, CA 96130

#### 6:03 P.M. CALL TO ORDER

Present: Supervisors Gallagher, Teeter, Hemphill, Albaugh and Hammond. Also Present: County Administrative Officer (CAO) Richard Egan, County Counsel Robert Burns and Deputy Clerk of the Board Michele Yderraga.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

AGENDA APPROVAL, ADDITIONS AND/OR DELETIONS

A motion was made by Supervisor Hemphill, seconded by Supervisor Hammond, that this Agenda be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Hemphill, Hammond, Albaugh, Gallagher and Teeter

#### **SALES TAX**

SUBJECT: Discussion on the subject of a transaction and use (sales) tax revenue measure for county voter approval.

FISCAL IMPACT: An increase in the local transaction and use tax at .50% is estimated to generate approximately \$1,431,503.00 annually in additional revenue.

ACTION REQUESTED: 1)Receive report from County Administrative Officer; and 2) provide direction to staff.

Attachments: Sales Tax Attachment

CAO Egan presented a power point presentation pertaining to the sales tax increase and options that will effect Lassen County and the City of Susanville. Extensive discussion was held.

SPEAKERS: Larry Johnson, Gary Bridges, Pat Holley, Joseph Turner, Patricia Ferne, Amy Holley, Chris Van Veener, Sheriff/Coroner Dean Growdon, Starlyn Clare, Mike Pickens, Auditor Diana Wemple, Monty Stout, Eileen Richard, Interim City Administrator Dan Newton and Delight Callegari.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned at 7:47 p.m.
Chairman of the Board of Supervisors
Date:
ATTEST:
Michele Yderraga, Deputy Clerk of the Board

A motion was made by Supervisor Hammond, seconded by Supervisor Teeter, that this Special Meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Hemphill, Hammond, Albaugh, Gallagher and Teeter