

## **Lassen County**

# **Meeting Minutes**

# Lassen-Modoc County Flood Control and Water Conservation District Special Meeting

Monday, October 4, 2021

1:00 PM

#### 1:15 P.M. CALL TO ORDER

Present: Directors Albaugh, Bridges, Byrne, Coe, Hemphill, and Rhoads. Also present: Lassen County Deputy County Administrative Officer Tony Shaw, Deputy Clerk of the District Michele Yderraga.

Director Cullins, Director Gallagher, Director Hammond, Lassen County Administrative Officer Richard Egan and Lassen County Counsel Amanda Uhrhammer were absent by prearrangement.

Director Cavasso arrived at 1:21 p.m.

**Present:** 7 - Aaron Albaugh, Ned Coe, Geri Byrne, Elizabeth Cavasso, Kathie

Rhoads, Gary Bridges and Jeff Hemphill

Absent: 3 - Patricia Cullins, Chris Gallagher and Tom Hammond

Excuse: 0

AGENDA APPROVAL, ADDITIONS AND/OR DELETIONS

A motion was made by Director Byrne, seconded by Director Bridges, that this Agenda be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Albaugh, Coe, Byrne, Rhoads, Bridges and Hemphill

Absent: 4 - Cavasso, Cullins, Gallagher and Hammond

**PUBLIC COMMENTS** 

Lassen County: None.

Modoc County: None.

## **PUBLIC HEARINGS**

**BUDGET HEARING** 

SUBJECT: Public Hearing. Lassen-Modoc County Flood Control and Water Conservation District (LMFCWCD) budget hearing and budget adoption by resolution. Resolution adopting the final budget for the Fiscal Year July 1,

2021, through June 30, 2022. FISCAL IMPACT: \$30,000.

ACTION REQUESTED: 1) Conduct Public Hearing; and 2) adopt resolution approving the 2021/2022 FY LMFCWCD final budget in the amount of \$30,000; and/or 3) provide direction to staff.

Attachments: Budget Attach

Lassen County Deputy County Administrative Officer Tony Shaw gave a brief overview of the budget and stated the slight change in budget was due to contracting with Modoc County for professional services.

The Public Hearing was open from 1:24 p.m. - 1:25 p.m.

SPEAKERS IN FAVOR: None.

SPEAKERS IN OPPOSITION: None.

A motion was made by Director Coe, seconded by Director Hemphill, that this Resolution No. 21-02 be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Albaugh, Coe, Byrne, Cavasso, Rhoads, Bridges and Hemphill

Absent: 3 - Cullins, Gallagher and Hammond

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

**MINUTES** 

SUBJECT: Meeting Minutes of April 27, 2021.

FISCAL IMPACT: None.

ACTION REQUESTED: Approve.

Attachments: DRAFT MINS

A motion was made by Director Rhoads, seconded by Director Byrne, that these Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Albaugh, Coe, Byrne, Cavasso, Rhoads and Bridges

Absent: 3 - Cullins, Gallagher and Hammond

Abstain: 1 - Hemphill

GROUNDWATER SUSTAINABILITY PROGRAM (GSP)

SUBJECT: Report regarding efforts of the Big Valley Groundwater Basin Advisory Committee (BVAC) and Groundwater Sustainability Agency (GSA) staff to develop a Groundwater Sustainability Plan (GSP) for the Big Valley

Groundwater Basin.

FISCAL IMPACT: None for this report. Unknown impacts from future

implementation of the GSP.

ACTION REQUESTED: Receive report.

Attachments: Flood Control presentation 10-4-21

Lassen County Assistant Planning and Building Services Director Gaylon Norwood gave an extensive report of recommendations given by the district to the Groundwater Sustainability Plan. Modoc County Cooperative Extension Director Laura Snell gave an update on chapters four (4) through eight (8) that included groundwater conditions, soils, wells, water flow, groundwater criteria, and monitoring. Lassen County Cooperative Extension Director David Lile discussed projects and management actions. Additional discussion was held pertaining to chapters ten (10) through twelve (12) that included annual reporting. Director Cavasso thanked Director Albaugh for the hard work put into the plan.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned at 1:46 p.m.
Chairman of the Board of Directors
Lassen-Modoc County Food Control and
Water Conservation District
Date:
ATTEST:
Julie Bustamante
Ex-Officio Clerk of the Board of directors
Michele Yderraga, Deputy Clerk of the District